The Miniseries, Part II

As the weekend approached, I had the time and inclination to cook another feast.  So, I now present episode 2 of the Pinterest-based, food blog-inspired miniseries!  The menu this time will be Pad Thai with Sriracha Lime Brussels sprouts and a simple side salad with ginger carrot dressing.

Again, all of the ingredients used were from Trader Joe’s (or found in my kitchen, but you get the idea).

PAD THAI

Pad Thai

The credit for this recipe goes to Patricia at Brownies for Dinner.  Check out her original recipe (via Everyday Foodhere.  I found it via Abigail Seadler on Pinterest.

This is a non-traditional Pad Thai recipe, with a soy sauce base replacing the more-authentic-yet-harder-to-find-in-an-American-grocery items like tamarind paste and fish sauce.  It was quite good, but would have been significantly better had I more perfectly mastered the art of cooking rice noodles without turning them into a sticky glob.  There’s always next time…

Pad Thai {serves 2-4 people}

  • 8 ounces rice noodles (I found some next to the fresh pasta in Trader Joe’s, but they were thin and round as opposed to the traditional wide, flat noodles)
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice (save some lime wedges for garnish if you’d like)
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons vegetable oil (I used the light olive oil my roommates got instead of extra virgin, and that worked well too)
  • 3 scallions, white parts thinly sliced and green parts sliced in half-inch pieces
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten (or, if you’re like me, just dropped straight into the pan)
  • fresh cilantro and crushed roasted peanuts to taste
  1. Cook noodles according to package instructions (although I would recommend cooking them according to the instructions in the original recipe, given the way mine turned out).
  2. Whisk together the brown sugar, lime juice, and soy sauce in a small bowl.  Set aside.
  3. Sauté the garlic and the white bits of the scallions over medium high heat until fragrant.
  4. Add the eggs, scraping the pan with a spatula continuously until set.  Remove from pan and set aside.
  5. Add the cooked noodles, the green scallion bits, and the sauce to the pan.  Cook (stirring continuously) for about a minute.
  6. Add the egg mixtures and toss in with the noodles until well mixed.
  7. Serve topped with fresh cilantro and crushed peanuts (and lime wedges, if you saved any).
  8. Done.  Eat and enjoy.

SRIRACHA LIME BRUSSELS SPROUTS

Sriracha Lime Brussels Sprouts from From Dahlias to Doxies

The perfect accompaniment to the Pad Thai turned out to be these Sriracha Lime Brussles Sprouts, which taste a lot like an egg roll (without the grease and MSG).  Delicious and good for you!  This time the credit for the original recipe goes to Ashley at From Dahlias to Doxies.  I found the recipe through Tanda Pfannenstiel on Pinterest and you can find it here.  These were insanely easy to make, and if you’re not a huge fan of Brussels sprouts, the sauce would be good on most veggies.  It could even serve as a salad dressing!  I would note, however, that these are best consumed fresh, since the leftovers were nowhere near as good as the straight-from-the-pan originals.

Sriracha Lime Brussels Sprouts {serves 4}

  • 1 pound whole Brussels sprouts, trimmed and cut in half
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon Sriracha
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  1. Sauté the Brussels sprouts (cut-side down recommended) until golden brown.
  2. Whisk together the Sriracha, honey, and lime juice in a small bowl.
  3. Remove Brussels sprouts from heat and toss with Sriracha mixture.
  4. Done.  Eat and enjoy.

GINGER CARROT DRESSING

Ginger Carrot Dressing from Skinnytaste

When I was a little kid, pretty much the only salad (ok, salad ingredient) I would eat was the cucumbers from the side salads at Japanese restaurants.  Oddly specific but true.  That’s because I loved the ginger carrot dressing on the little side salads, and the cucumbers were an acceptable dressing-vehicle (after all, it’s not like I was going to eat the lettuce).

While I now (happily) eat a wide variety of salads and dressings, I still have a soft spot for ginger carrot dressings.  I was therefore delighted when I came across this recipe from Gina at Skinnytaste.  Her original recipe can be found here.  This is another recipe I found via Maria from Two Peas and Their Pod on Pinterest.  Using the dressing recipe and my memories of Japanese restaurant side salads, I came up with my own version.  Feel free to use whichever salad ingredients you like/have on hand.  I think it could be good with some purple cabbage and/or sliced tomato in addition to what I used.

Salad with Ginger Carrot Dressing {serves many}

Note: The original recipe calls for a 1/4 cup minced onion, but since eating raw onion makes me sick, I jacked up the measurements for the carrot, celery, and ginger.  The numbers listed here are from the original recipe, so…just use your discretion.)

Dressing:

  • 1/4 cup carrot, minced
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger, minced
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon celery, minced
  • 3 tablespoons sesame oil (or peanut oil–if you don’t have either, I’m sure vegetable oil or olive oil would be fine)
  • 3 tablespoons rice vinegar (we ran out of rice vinegar about a tablespoon shy and substituted white wine vinegar for the rest)
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • fresh ground black pepper to taste
  1. Mix ingredients together in a blender and blend until smooth.  My blender recently died and the one my roommate got as a replacement has some trouble blending evenly, so I can tell you confidently that that is still good chunky.
  2. Done.

Salad (ingredient amounts depend on how much salad you want to make):

  • butter lettuce
  • 1-2 carrots, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cucumber, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced
  • sprouts
  • 2 tablespoons avocado
  • fresh cracked pepper
  1. Combine all the ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Toss with dressing.
  3. Done.  Eat and enjoy.
The full meal: Pad Thai with Sriracha Lime Brussels Sprouts and Ginger Carrot Salad
We enjoyed the meal with the leftover Prosecco with lemon sorbet.  It would also pair well with a light beer (Sapporo or Kirin come to mind here, if we’re going with the Americanized pan-Asian theme).

So that’s it for episode 2.  I know I enjoyed expanding beyond the boundaries of my usual cuisines of choice, and I hope you will too!

PS: Yeah, I know.  The photography is still nowhere near food blog quality.  However, I really can’t be bothered to try to fix the horrible yellow light in my kitchen when I’m hungry and staring down a plate of delicious food.  Maybe episode three will be better.  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “The Miniseries, Part II

  1. Aunt Christine says:

    It’s best not to read these recipes when you are hungry – which I have done both times now. And lunch has never seemed so far away…

Talk to Me

