The Ten Albums I’m Listening to Most Right Now

Between several airplane flights, not taking calls at work for a few days due to having lost my voice, and moving this past weekend, I’ve been listening to a lot of music lately.  Since this is a place for sharing, I thought I would share some of the albums I’ve been returning to over and over.

I know, I know.  I don’t have nearly enough hipster cred to pull this kind of post off.  You will probably have HEARD of these bands before.   Which is why this post is based on what I am currently listening to a lot as opposed to being something like the “Top Ten BEST Albums of All Time.  Period.”  So, I open myself to judgment and would love to be able to open your eyes to at least one awesome new song along the way.  I would also love to hear some suggestions back, because I am well aware that I am hardly musically omniscient.

The ten albums are in alphabetical rather than numerical order.  You’ll see the band name first, and then the album title and a song or two I would particularly recommend, along with a link to listen to it.  Convenient, right?

Arcade Fire

The Suburbs

Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)

the bird and the bee

ray guns are not just the future

love letter to japan

The Decemberists

The Hazards of Love

(Picking one album is just hard since I love them all, but I would say that the Hazards of Love benefits the most from a listen all the way through since it’s one continuous story.)

The Hazards of Love 1 (The Prettiest Whistles Won’t Wrestle the Thistles Undone)

(Like I said, it’s a continuous story so start from the beginning.  However, if you’re too impatient for the largely silent prelude, start here.)

Florence + the Machine

Ceremonials

What the Water Gave Me

The Glitch Mob

Drink the Sea

Animus Vox

Janelle Monáe

The ArchAndroid

Cold War” or “Wondaland

Kishi Bashi

151a

Manchester

 

Of Montreal

Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer?

The Past is a Grotesque Animal” or “Gronlandic Edit

Regina Spektor

Far

Blue Lips” or “Dance Anthem of the 80’s” or “Laughing With

(You really can’t go wrong.)

Yeasayer

Odd Blood

I Remember” or “Rome

Tagged ,

Talk to Me

