Resolutions for 2015

I have never made a New Year’s resolution, other than jokingly resolving to learn to like whiskey last year.

To my surprise, setting the resolution (even in jest) actually worked.

Since I want this next year to be another year of growth and increased personal responsibility, I decided to make some resolutions in earnest.

Here are a few goals I would like to – and totally can – achieve in 2015:

Fruitful:

  1. Go on one at least outdoor adventure (i.e. hike, bike ride, camping trip) each month.
  2. Go to at least one cultural event (i.e. museum, symphony, theater) each month.
  3. Read all the books on this list (and more).

Financial:

  1. Pay off all my credit card debt, then up my monthly car payments by $50.
  2. Put aside at least $1,000 in savings.
  3. Track all of my spending (and actually stay within my monthly budget for each category).

Fashionable:

  1. Give my closet a serious overhaul and sell or donate all the items I’ve outgrown or don’t have a use for anymore.
  2. Focus on purchasing investment pieces that will last for years, rather than indulging in trendy fast fashion.
  3. Finish a knit piece, a cross-stitched piece, and a sewn piece just for me.

Frivolous:

  1. Host a dinner party where I cook multiple courses – and pair wines! – for at least 6 people.
  2. Go on a road trip.
  3. Finish my murder mystery.

Let’s see how this goes!

What are you resolving to do better in 2015?

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Resolutions for 2015

  1. Christine Turner says:

    Ok Amy, you’ve inspired me to be more organized and detailed with my resolutions. Most of my resolutions seem to be health related, but that’s okay since it’s a goal, right? Here’s my list:

    Health:
    Drink more water
    Eat more vegetables
    Eat more fruit
    Strengthen core through planking
    Bench 50 lbs by year-end
    Do 1 pull-up by year-end
    Do breast self examination monthly
    Walk outdoors regularly (1x week)

    Adventure/Entertainment:
    Go Geocaching
    Watch 12 movies with Jim
    Go on one family outing per month
    Watch sunrise

    Other
    Go through and organize one box/cupboard/closet per month
    Make one new recipe per month
    Make one new vegetarian recipe per month

    We’re 13 days into the new year and I feel I’m off to a good start. I’ve done planking every day, I tested the pull-up situation and made it one inch, ha ha. Uncle Jim and I have already watched 2 movies (Good Will Hunting & Silver Linings Playbook). The only thing I’m technically behind in is the walking outdoors weekly – but I can still catch up.

    Thanks for the motivation!
    Love,
    Aunt Christine

Talk to Me

